Skip to main content

Users and devices

The Authentication Cloud Management Console provides you with an intuitive UI for user and device management. Although all this functionality is also available using our REST API services, the console is readily available for account management purposes, even during trials and pilots.

Users

Find a user

Use the Username as a foreign key to link the user to your records in the backend systems. Additionally, each user is assigned a unique ID that remains the same for the entire user lifecycle and can also be used to identify the user.

  1. To find a user by name, click the Users sidebar item.
  2. In the Search field, enter a part or the full Username that the user registered with. A list of the results is displayed.
note

The search is not case sensitive. You can also search by ID.

Users

Find a user device

After finding the user, click View in the listing to open the user details screen.

If the user has a device or a phone number registered, or if they have a set of recovery codes, these are shown respectively under the Devices, SMS authentication, and Recovery codes section on the screen.

note

A User can have up to ten devices registered.

User details screen

Delete a user

  1. After finding the user, click View in the listing to open the user details screen.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the more options menu , then click Delete.
  3. Confirm the deletion in the dialog window.
  4. Click the Delete button to complete the process.
Delete a user

Blocked users

When push rate limiting is enabled on your instance, and the number of push notifications sent to any of the user devices reaches the set limit, the user and all of their devices become temporarily blocked. A blocked user cannot use push notifications for authentication, however, they can use other authentication channels, such as QR codes. You can manually unblock blocked users by clicking the Unblock button on the user details screen.

Blocked user

Devices

Find a device

You can find a device by searching for the Device name or ID in the devices list, or you can find the specific user the device is tied to, then locate the device on the user details screen. To search for a device in the devices list, do the following:

  1. Click the Devices sidebar item.
  2. In the Search field, enter a part or the full Device name or the device ID. A list of the results is displayed.
note

The search is not case sensitive.

Devices

Delete a device through the Devices overview screen

  1. After finding the device, click View in the listing to open the device details screen.
  2. In the top-right corner click the more options menu , then click Delete.
  3. Confirm the deletion in the dialog window.
  4. Click the Delete button to complete the process.
Device details screen

Delete a device through the user details screen

If a user no longer uses a device or a phone number, or you want to revoke Recovery codes, remove it from the user account. Keeping unused devices or phone numbers can prevent registering a new one.

  1. Navigate to the user details screen.
  2. Identify the device or phone number no longer in use, or locate the recovery codes.
  3. On the right side of the item, click Delete, or in case of recovery codes, Revoke all.
  4. Confirm the deletion in the dialog window.
  5. To complete the process, click the Delete button, or in case of recovery codes, the Revoke button.
Delete a device